ruthrap

Friday, November 24, 2006

Holiday Blues!

I don't know about anyone else, but just about every year I suffer the holiday blues...I don't exactly know why, but as the holiday season approaches, I feel almost like hiding myself away til it's all over.........my mood even changes to a sultry, kind of nonchalant attitude..I become anxious for no reason and extra sensitive. There is something about this season that brings out the worst in me! I don't do crowds well and just the thoughts of shopping a big store makes me cringe, let alone a big store full of a bunch of crazed shoppers...I would sooner jump rope with chimpanzees than go shopping the day after Thanksgiving. I had a bit of a taste of that today when I had to do a little shopping after I left work. I wasn't feeling too perky anyway and wouldn't you know the item I had to buy was at Wal-Mart! What should have took fifteen minutes, took forty-five. That was mostly my own fault, cause I couldn't find what I was looking for and couldn't find someone to help me find it! I finally got someones attention and she was kind enough to take me to the item! ( I had only walked past it three times!) Then I found myself in the toy isle looking for something suitable for a five year old girl! The traffic was a bit thicker over there and I ran into the mommy of the little one I had just found a present for and of course little one was with mommy....fortunately she's only going to be one..so didn't pick up on what was goin' on...I'm not real good at deciding on stuff, but I managed to make short work of picking the second gift and made my way to checkout...........and there I was for the next twenty minutes! As I was exiting the store I saw Carolyn ,my buddy. She had walked to the store from her place and was just getting started (she's probably still there!) I wanted to say: Are you out of your ever-lovin' gourd?, but I just said: Enjoy! and I split! Now, of course, you would have to know that I wasn't done.....oh, no....I had to go by Dollar Tree and pick out a couple bags for the gifts (I refuse to wrap a gift!) So, feeling like crap, I made my way down to the dollar store. I love the dollar store, because, why else..........everything's a dollar. Well, I think I spent more time there and less money..came out with the bags, two birthday cards and some extras to go in the bags...I was proud of myself..spent less than ten bucks..a mere third of what I had squandered at Wal-mart! By this time, I was ready to head for my humble abode...mission accomplished.

I know I got off the beaten path there but back to the original point...I do get kind of moody around the holiday and I'm tryin' to beat the blahs in every way I can and just being able to put my feelings in words is making me feel a whole lot better! I don't want to be Scrooge and I love the spirit of giving...maybe it has something to do with people not appreciating the true meaning of Christmas...when I think of Christmas, I think of Christ our Savior and what a Gift He is to us...I wish everyone would just stop and ponder how awesome a Gift to the world He was and is...That would be a Merry Chrismas!



0 Comments:

Post a Comment

Subscribe to Post Comments [Atom]

<< Home