ruthrap

Tuesday, May 30, 2006

Good Dog, Bad Dog

It's a little cloudy out this morning and I've had a nice early start to the day. A little too early as Mr. Rusty Kramer jumped up on the bed at about 5 am and started licking my feet! I don't know what he's trying to prove as I'm not the one who has been walking him every morning. Evidently, he thinks I have some authority around here and can get others to start moving. I'll admit, Jose takes a while longer to get ready to go somewhere than I do, but I wasn't ready to motivate myself, let alone Jose an 5 o'clock. Nevertheless I did manage to get up around 6 and get ready to walk the mutts. Josie doesn't usually get to go as Jose says she refuses to walk for him and literally lays down on the sidewalk. But I can get her to walk so the four of us went on our 2-mile this morning. When we got back close to home, Jose wanted to let RK off the leash so he could go straight to the house. (yeah, right). I let Josie go and she went straight to the back door and I let her in (good girl!) Kramer, on the other hand decided that he was not finished with his morning adventure and took off down the street, much to Jose's dismay (I told him not to trust him!) I went on in the house thinking that he would catch him, but when I didn't hear them after a few minutes, I went back out to check things out. Didn't see either one of 'em. So I strolled down the sidewalk a ways and saw Jose holding the leash, no Kramer! I walked a ways and caught a glimpse of him and started calling him and got real close. He acted as tho I were a complete stranger and took off running. Blast him!!! Finally I got him cornered in one of the yards one street over from ours that is fenced in and sweet talked him into lying down (like a good boy!) and leashed him and escorted him home. By this time Jose is really ticked off at him so I kept him at a distance and tried to explain that punishment would not be a good idea and would only make him worse the next time he decides to run! And of course I had to add: Just don't trust him because he's so unpredictable! (another way of saying "I told you so!" )
Anyway, all's well that ends well and we're all safe and sound in our little house. Josie, I'm sure is napping and Mr. Kramer is still outside as Jose is not happy with his wonder dog this morning!

3 Comments:

Blogger Darrell said...

Your dogs sound like quite a trip! I keep getting this mental image of Jose chasing after Kramer that I cannot help but laugh at. I have to ask you, when you name a dog Kramer (I assume ala Seinfeld) did you not expect the dog to be a little unstable?

4:52 AM  
Blogger ruthrap said...

Yes, darrell, i picked up the name from seinfeld, you can take one look at the dog and tell he's not quite with it, but there are times when he's rather smart and even trustworthy, i think he has a split personality, maybe bipolar. i don't know for sure---you just gotta get to know him!!

7:27 AM  
Anonymous Anonymous said...

Your are Excellent. And so is your site! Keep up the good work. Bookmarked.
»

1:56 AM  

Post a Comment

Subscribe to Post Comments [Atom]

<< Home