ruthrap

Friday, October 13, 2006

Wabbits in danger!

Today was a busy work day and my noon help was about fifteen minutes late and I was starting to worry just a tad! But she made it and when you're busy time flies! Before I knew it, it was time to punch out! The store was having a friday the thirteenth sale and there were several items I wanted to pick up before I went home, so I shopped the store for some sale items...and was it ever busy!! Hy-vee knows how to get people in the door! All you gotta do is put paper towels, toilet tissue, and several other items at a really rediculous price...add icecream at 1.13 a half gallon and its party time at the checkout lanes! I'm sure glad I wasn't a checker today! Those poor checkers were rockin' ! I made pretty good time getting thru the checkout even with it being so busy, and got out of there in time to stop at my favorite thrift store! Oh, by the way, I did get my film developed and most of the pictures were good except there was about four too many of Jose's agave plants!
Now, back to the thrift store... there was only about a half hour left to shop cause they close at 4:30. I didn't find much today, but didn't leave empty handed (no way!) I found two books and a sweater....as I was getting ready to pay for my stuff, one of the ladies that works there asked me where I lived...and when I told her, all of a sudden it dawned on me that she was the lady that came running out of a house down the street about two weeks ago after my darling little Josie had pooped in her yard! I think we both recognized each other at the same time! What do you do in a situation like that? Well, folks, I just said "Oh, I remember you, you're the lady that my dog pooped in your yard!" Nothing backward about me! As I recall the incident: my friend and her daughter and I were walking Josie and Kramer, and who would have thought anyone was on poop-patrol, but this gal was sitting on her couch looking out her window when Josie did her thing. When I saw her jump up from the couch and head for her door, I knew we had been had!
She was very nice about it and brought me something to remove it from the lawn...but I must admit I was embarrassed! I always forget to bring that baggie thing for such incidents and I knew the day was coming when I'd be sorry! And to think that that very lady works at my favorite store..........I should have been mortified! Not me..........we had a nice little discussion and she explained to me that lots of children go by her house and I understood, but she gave me the impression that she didn't particularly care for dogs... so I doubt we will ever be good buddies! I can always reroute my walk and stuff my pockets with those handy-dandy doggie-doo bags, just to be on the safe side!
I do believe that everyone in this house, dogs included, are sleeping! My son washed windows all day today and was windburnt from the sun and the wind, so he retired early and my canine pals wore themselves out early today on a rabbit chase....early this morning when I was getting ready for work, I heard a racket in the back yard. Jose had taken them out and it wasn't even daylight yet, so I couldn't imagine what was going on! Come to find out ,they had actually caught a rabbit and Jose was trying to save the poor thing! And how did he save the rabbit? I'm not real sure, but I know he sure did a lot of hollering..I honestly thought that there was a huge dog loose or maybe even something worse, from the way it sounded! Later on, when he was telling his side of the story he confessed that he threw his coffee at them to save the bunny!
Now, if that was me out there, I'm sorry, but the rabbit would have been history........I would have let nature take it's course! And, I'm certainly not wasting a good cup of coffee! Jose is so kind hearted and can't stand to see anything hurt, so I commend him for that, but he had me worried until I found out what the ruckus was all about!
Tomorrow we are going to have our eyes checked and get new glasses...I always have to have my eyes dilated, so I'm not looking forward to that part, because I have to work afterwards and my eyes will be messed up for quite a while! I'll be glad to get a day off (Sunday) and next weeks schedule is a dandy because I have to work the noon to close shift on both weekend days!
I did manage to get wednesday nite off so I may actually get to go to church that night!
Isn't this weather a hoot! My brother said he wasn't turning his furnace on before he took off for Florida. I'm gonna call him and see if his feet are froze to the floor yet! Have a good weekend and stay warm!

2 Comments:

Blogger Darrell said...

Your story of the dog pooping in the yard is funny. I have said that I am going to go out and say something to some of the people that live by us. It seems like there is ALWAYS someone walking a dog on our street, and they all just have to poop at our house. And trust me, NO ONE bothers to pick it up like they are supposed to around here!

I'm with Jose on the rabbit issue. I about killed the neighbors cat last year when it caught a baby rabbit in my yard. I threw something and hit the cat so hard it flipped 2 or 3 times. It did not even come back in my yard for well over a year, but it's been sneaking back around a bit lately. I now have a BB gun ready for it, and next time I see it... well, you get the idea.

4:22 AM  
Blogger ruthrap said...

we had to save a nest of baby rabbits a couple years ago from Josie, i think i even told that story on the blog, but those big rabbits are fair game and if Jose hadn't been out there i think the rabbit would have lost and chances are since they had a hold of the rabbit and tore its skin, it probably didn't make it anyway! survival of the fittest when it comes to rabbits and dogs..its in their nature to be hunters.

4:01 PM  

Post a Comment

Subscribe to Post Comments [Atom]

<< Home