Baby, It's Cold Outside!
And I ain't kidding! Nothing like about a foot of snow to turn your world into one big old deepfreeze! I don't think many of us were ready for this winter wonderland...at least this
heat seeker wasn't! I like warm and cozy and have an aversion to freezin' my fanny in this insane weather! However, you would think after all the years I've spent in Illinois, I would be used to the abuse of winter! I may be used to it, but that doesn't mean I have to like it! I suppose that's enough harping about weather.....let's see if I can pick a more interesting topic to mull over!
Today, I got to enjoy a marvelous day off from work...even the cold couldn't put a damper on that!
Started off with church...more people showed up than was expected...pastor said so! That's a good thing! I always enjoy church whether the congregation is big or small...but it's always nice to see new people! I even saw an old buddy of mine who used to be one of my favorite pizza customers at the store! I knew when I saw her coming it was time to make her a pizzaboat! I was pleasantly surprised to see her at church this morning!
After church we went and got my son and checked out the new McDonalds on Main....nice store...food still the same...what really got my attention was the big LCD tv on the wall above where we sat.....it was neat to look at but not much audio effect as you couldn't hear anything for all the people...and of course Ronald was there today from 11 to 1..the puniest Ronald McDonald I've ever seen! Bet he's never had a Big Mac with supersized fries! But he was makin' all the kids happy and asking them all if they ever drank coffee! Don't know what that was about, but oh well! Oh, and a new feature of the new store is a fireplace...looked pretty authentic too..I think it was an actual fire burning in it!! Let's hope it doesn't attract a pyromaniac...then we are looking at an even newer and better McD's! Oh, and look forward to a new one on Henderson, it's the next project! I don't know about you, but I can hardly wait!!! They really need to find a more portly Ronald tho....This guy was just not for real.....I guess they are trying to give the fast food industry a new slimline, healthy image! We all know that's a crock!!! That stuff is going to make you fat if you eat it all the time!
On to the next highlight of the day....thriftin'! There is only one thrift store in this town open on Sunday and that's Goodwill...if you recall that's were I happened on that twenty-dollar bill in the pocket of that jacket I found in there! Well, it's me and Ronnie and Jose and I have yet to get my dear husband into a thrift store and he will probably pop his cork when he finds out I told...but today he entered a thrift store for the first time since I've known him and even found a couple items to his liking to buy!!! He handed me some cash and the items and then split for Big Lots...but I'm proud of him for making that first step!!! Now my next goal will be to get him into Cottage Corner...wish me luck on that one cause he really is thumbs down on that place!!
Did a quick walk through at Big Lots..the place was too crowded and I was not in the mood for people elbow to elbow, so I was out of there with no purchases and ready to head for home!
Well, folks, that raps it up for a day in the life of............hope I didn't put anyone to sleep and I'll be back again soon! Fair warning!

2 Comments:
I wish i couldve went to church today but my car is still broke!! .... I havent seen the new Micky D's yet I will soon i hope!! well talk to you later!
Sounds like you and my wife would get along just fine. I'm like Jose, I don't care for thrift stores that much.
Now, as far as fast food goes, I've eaten my share of Bic Macs and fries. However, when we stopped at McDonald's yesterday, it was just for my daughter and a friend on the way to church for the evening service. I was a good boy. I waited until after church and went home and ate.
God bless you!
Post a Comment
Subscribe to Post Comments [Atom]
<< Home