ruthrap

Thursday, January 04, 2007

Stress tests cause Stress!!

Today was my first experience of having a stress test and hopefully the last! I don't want to sound like it was a horrible experience..but it wasn't a joyous occasion to say the least...when I first got there I got to play 2o questions with a nurse and she then asked my why the doctor ordered the test..I wanted to smart off and say.."you might want to ask him" but I was nice and told her that I had some unexplainable pain in my arm and the doctor wasn't sure if it was related to a tennis elbow condition or something else...so to be on the safe side, he ordered the stress testing..one test was with a treadmill and the next one will be resting...that one will be tomorrow...
Well, questions out of the way, I get to get hooked up to the electrodes that are going to record the heart rate while I'm on the treadmill and of course I get to have a needle with a little tube in it stuck in my arm so when your heart rate reaches 139 bpm they shoot some stuff into the tubing to attach to your red blood cells which will later give them a picture of your blood flow system! I'm sorry if I don't have all the technical terms correct..but it's the best I can do..
Then they start the treadmill up and gradually increase the speed of it as your heart rate increases....after it reaches 139, the isotopes are injected and then you get cranked up to a faster pace and when the rate is up to 155 and you feel like you are about to stroke out...they slow you down and then it's over! Then you get to go to x-ray and hold your arms over your head for a whole fifteen minutes while a big machine takes pictures of your chest...at least you get to lie down for this one! I got to leave after that and go back tomorrow for just a resting test...on that one I just get the isotope injection and some pictures.....piece of cake!
I had anticipated something a lot worse than it actually was...so if you are ever scheduled for a stress test...fear not...if you can get past that dreaded treadmill thing you've got it made....I have come to one conclusion : I need to exercise more because....if I had been in a bit better shape..that treadmill trip would have been much easier!

0 Comments:

Post a Comment

Subscribe to Post Comments [Atom]

<< Home