ruthrap

Monday, October 30, 2006

InspiredBreathing.: Sucking on Toads - bear with me

InspiredBreathing.: Sucking on Toads - bear with me

Shop til ya Drop!

As my little minivacation draws to a close, I have to say it was enjoyable! I went shopping with my buddy, Jacinda, today and spent a few more bucks than I had planned to but that's okay..cause they were mostly birthday bucks and that's what you're supposed to do with birthday money....blow it! right? That's what I did anyway and had fun doing it! Everything I got, I didn't need and could have done without..but I like all of it! Jacinda didn't do a bad job herself, I must say..that girl can shop!
It's back to the grindstone (or pizzastone) tomorrow and I'll be raring to go! I almost love my job...notice I said "almost"! I'm into my eighth year there so chances are unless I were to win the lottery, I won't be going anywhere anytime soon! It's like any other job, after so long you reach a burnout stage..I passed it a long time ago...now I'm in a toleration stage..everything I do is so easy and like clockwork, it's like you put yourself on automatic pilot when you punch in and just cruise through the day! Toleration may be a poor word to use for discribing this stage.........maybe comfortable would be more appropriate. Let's just say I comfortably tolerate the job! How's that? Sometimes I wish I could move on to something more challenging and maybe someday I will, but for right now I'm content to be the Pizza Queen!

Sunday, October 29, 2006

Fillin' Up

I'm gonna borrow a little message from Creflo's sermon on the tube this morning...as you know, we had to turn the clocks back last night, but I still woke up on daylight savings time! I turned on Creflo and he said some neat stuff...He said: Why do we go to church all the time ?......well, his answer was... To get filled up! As he put it, you can't go anywhere in your car on an empty tank and you can't get to heaven on empty either...God's word is our fuel to get to heaven, folks ,
and if we don't gas up on a regular basis and we are all the time runnin' on empty, we are in bad shape spiritually, and need to get ourselves to the filling station ! Lots of folks are runnin' on empty and don't even know it! So you all get yourselves to the filling station today and fill up on the feul that's gonna get you where you're goin'! See ya there!
I must say, the party was a huge success yesterday and everyone fell in love with Jose's cookin'!
I want to thank everyone who came..........you all made my day and ,hopefully, we can do it over again next year!!
Gotta go, as I volunteered to clean the kitchen this morning!

Saturday, October 28, 2006

What's Cookin'?

Smells from the kitchen this morning are literally drool inducing!!! Jose is out there cooking up a storm, folks and It's All Good!!
I'm a bit dissapointed in the weather forecast today due to the wind advisory, but we'll just have to make the best of it...looks like we may have to set up things in the garage! Regardless of the weather, we are gonna party! I'm looking forward to having a good time!
My friend Carolyn finally appeared at the store yesterday. I was busy making something (fridays are always hectic) and I looked up and there she was, watching me over the top of the coldcase counter! I had left my gift for her at work so I took time to present it to her and she was really happy with it. Of course, that made my day ,and she unloaded all of her purchases from Wal-mart into the cart and said she was going to show it off! Mission accomplished!! I just hope she got home before dark, because I worked the day shift and wouldn't be around to give her a ride last nite! It's silly of me to worry about her. Something tells me she's a toughy and that Someone has been lookin' out for her! Get it?
Kramer is outside barking his fool head off! It's only 6:30 am and I'm sure the neighbor's want to listen to his yap this early! I just let him back in the house! What a DoDo!! (long O)
If you can't make it to the party, there will be enchilladas at the potluck tommorrow as Jose is making some especially for that..........what a guy! Gotta go...............there's stuff to do! Have a great day!

Thursday, October 26, 2006

Where Did it Go!!!

I tried to go to my blog last nite and came up with a white screen that said "Internal ServerError 500"!
I had no idea what that meant and tried to access my site through someone elses'! No matter what I did I couldn't get there so I finally gave up! Everything is A-OK this morning, so I guess the problem was resolved by the server! Had me worried though, cause I've become a blogaholic, ya know, and was feining to blog!!! Just jokin'! Seriously, I do enjoy the blog thing and would miss it if the computer blew up on me!
Sounds like it's raining out this morning and we are in for a yukky day..........but I have to work so makes no difference to me! I'm hoping the weekend is descent though, because my husband is throwing me a party for my __ birthday! And, believe me ,folks, this guy really knows how to throw a party!! I think he is a down right natural party host and you haven't lived til you attend a party with all his fixins'. He's making a whole bunch of mexican food. Sounds like Saturday is going to be cool but dry (let's hope). Anyone that wants is welcome to attend!
I haven't seen my friend Carolyn for a couple days, so I hope she's okay. I have a present for her when she comes to the store...I think she will like it...It's a cart with wheels that folds up so she can wheel her stuff in it...it's made of frabric and is compact, but will hold quite a bit of stuff.
It's been hanging in my basement for about three years now, and I have never used it, so its not like I'm going to miss it and I think she can put it to good use! I stuck a couple books in there for her to read. She had a beat-up looking paper-back with her the other day at the store, so I know she likes to read. If I don't see her in a few days at the store, I will just take it to her apartment, since I know where she lives now!
I think I need COFFEE, everyone is still sleeping, even the dogs....I will let Josie sleep in, that's for sure, because she will not want to go out in the rain! When she does finally wake up (I think she hibernates on nasty days!) I will have to carry her to the yard and if I even mention the word "outside" she will run and hide under our bed! She is such a coward! Now, Kramer is under the impression that he can't go out without her! He'll stand at the backstairs and look at me like a dummy and won't even go out...folks, I have totally lost control of that one and he will only listen to his master (Jose). He refuses to go to the yard and since we have taken him on a few carrides, he goes straight to my car now and thinks he's going bye-bye! Or, he will go to the neighbor's yard and completely ignore me when I tell him to get in his own yard! Jose says he won't listen to me because I don't call him by his proper name (Rusty)! I don't buy that one. I've called him Kramer ever since we got him, he's just stubborn and bullheaded and thinks I have no authority around here! I swear, this place has gone to the dogs!!! Literally!
Well, that's about it for this post, I have got to fire up a pot of java and get started this morning.....catch ya all later!

Monday, October 23, 2006

I'm an Angel!!!

Monday, Monday, remember that song...just kinda popped into my head for no apparent reason...Monday to me means the third consecutive noon to close shift at work! Then again, after tomorrow, I have to put in two more before the one day shift on friday and then , Rejoice!! three glorious days off in a row!!! Does it sound like I'm a bit burnt out on the old job? Not really, just need a break! I got good news the other day in the form of a notice from management that I am now entitled to three whole weeks of vacation due to the fact that I have eight years at my job! I was estatic over that!
I see that spammers have attacked my blogsite, so I took the advice to enable word verification,so lets hope I did it right and no more spam!!! They are parasites!
According to the tv weatherman, we are way below average temperature wise this morning! Duh, does that mean it's not supposed to be 40 something out and that it should be in the 60's? Could of fooled me! I just thought we got winter early and are just going to have to deal with it!!
I have to tell you that my new little friend, Carolyn ,was in the store about quitting time last nite and I was wondering what she was doing out so late and it was really cold with the wind blowing.
She came up to my counter and asked me if she could get a ride home! I've been wanting to find out where she lives so I said "Sure!" There's no way I could turn her down! So after I punched out I dropped her off at her apartment... gave her a little lecture about being out so late in the cold and told her to be careful. I don't know what it is about her..she was so gracious and told me she had been praying to get a ride home because she didn't think she could make it and told me I was an "angel"! I just laughed and told her "Now, see, it pays to pray!" Anyway, I was glad I could help her out because if you could see this gal you'd understand why I'm so drawn to her...she is so frail looking and yet I see a strength in her that amazes me...she walks like a good wind would blow her over and she's so skinny I wonder if she's getting proper nourishment..but there's something in her eyes and her smile that tells me ,she's on it! She's no dummy, that's for sure! I can imagine that she is really lonely because I have yet to see her actually with another person. I guess that's why I want to be her buddy! I must confess I have a soft spot for the elderly and I believe they can sense that! I've tried to analyze this trait in me and the only reason I can come up with is that I lacked the presence of grandparents in my upbringing so have always sought out older individuals to bond with. Does that sound reasonable? Does to me! Not that I need a reason to like old folks, we should all have high regard for our elders, because they are all special in their own way.
It's approaching 8 am and I haven't accomplished anything this morning except this blog entry!
That means its time to sign off and go on to the tasks of the day! I won't bore you all with the details of what all that involves and I certainly won't enjoy my chores near as much as sitting here at this computer being "creative"! Ha! Have a good day!

Sunday, October 22, 2006

Good Morning!

I thought it was about time to check into the old blog and update you all on what's been happenin'.
Actually, not a whole lot but, if you know me I can go on about nothing indefinitely!
When I got home from work friday there was a message on the machine from the eyeglass place that our glasses were ready and of course they would be closed in about an hour and a half and Jose wasn't home...so that stressed me a little (woman of little patience). But he showed up within about a half hour and we took off for Monmouth and Josie and Kramer were looking all dejected behind the gate, so we felt sorry for them and took them with us! Now, I worry a bit about miss Josie getting carsick, but took the risk and let her go, simply because I knew she would get even if we left her!
We made it in good time, got our new specs, and were headed back home within an hour.. and the dogs were really good......even Josie....she barked at some people a couple times...but they just thought she was cute! Kramer loves to ride and will run straight to the car or the truck if he thinks you are going somewhere, hoping to get lucky and shag a ride!
Work was extremely slow in pizzaville yesterday...so the day kind of drug after I ran out of stuff to do.........got an order about 7:30 after I had everything cleaned up for the night. That happens occasionally, but I was gracious and didn't give the slightest clue that I wasn't thrilled to make that lady's pizza!
Last nite I got two e-mails from my cousin Lydia, who lives in Oceanside, California...we have been corresponding a lot and it's amazing how much we have in common for having never met each other! She was going to church today and said she'd pray for me and I told her I would reciprocate! She has a big golden retrierver, can't think of the name right off hand...tell you later! I think she is about my age also...her mother is my mother's half-sister and my only living aunt. My aunt Betty is in her 70's and a wonderful Christian lady..I met her in the 90's when Jose and I and Tony went to Maywood to visit Jose's sister, Ofelia. I love her dearly and I know that she's prayed me through some major stuff in my lifetime! Everyone needs an Aunt Betty, believe me!
I'm cutting it short this morning, folks, cause I got stuff to do if I'm going to get this place shaped up and make it to church! Have a great Sunday and I'll visit you again soon...pray that I hold up this week as I'm working seven days straight with no day off so I can get the weekend off! Thanks a bunch!

Wednesday, October 18, 2006

Carolyn

My new found friend's name is Carolyn....a few days after our cartoon discussion, I had lunch with her..she bought a piece of my bacon-cheeseburger pizza around noon and it was still sitting in front of her when I took my break around 12:2o. She was sitting by herself in a booth as though waiting for someone to come along and join her for lunch. When I sat down at her booth, her eyes lit up and she said " I was thinking about inviting you to lunch!" I said "You don't have to invite me, I'll just invite myself!" She laughed and it wasn't long before one of my co-workers from a neighboring department joined us, along with another lady who has a friend that works in the bakery and waits for him to get off work almost every day. I can tell this lady was really enjoying our company and I introduced her to everyone. I asked her about the Veggie Tales cds and she said she was going to give them to a little girl that lived close to her apartment...but she offered to loan them to me first. I told her to go ahead and give them to the little girl, that she would enjoy them much more than I would. We all had a good time joking with her and it was good to see her so cheerful. After my break was over, I got to thinking of how much it must have made a difference to her to have someone share a meal with her and it really made me feel good that the time we spent with her probably made her day! From now on, I will make it a point to sit with her whenever I can. I would guess that many elderly folks suffer from just plain old loneliness...they may not have family that live close to them...some have no-one simply because many of their friends have already passed away.. some don't drive and are restricted to only being able to get within walking distance of where they live! I know Carolyn doesn't drive and she doesn't walk all that fast either! Winters can be a challenge for the elderly too. Often, they are afraid to leave their homes simply because they are afraid of falling on the snow and ice and they don't take to the cold very well either! So, if you know anyone who is elderly and needs a friend or a little help getting around, take a little time out and give them a hand, a kind word, and see if there's anything you can do to make their day a little brighter!

Saturday, October 14, 2006

They Aren't Just for Kids You Know!

I have to tell you all what happened at work today and it's not at all related to work! I have this elderly lady who comes in the store alot that I have really taken a liking to. I sit with her once in a while on my lunch break and just visit with her... she seems so lonely and I never see her with anyone. Today, I spotted her getting ready to sit down in the kitchen area with her coffee and her treat from the bakery, so I decided to sit with her and just chat. I had already had lunch before I came to work.. our eyes were so messed up after the dilation from the eye exam this morning we stayed in Monmouth and had an early lunch at a Mexican restaurant over there. But I got a cup of coffee and spent my break with this dear little lady. Somehow we got on the subject of cartoons. She told me she liked to watch cartoons on Saturday morning...well, I'm not into cartoons, but I thought of Veggie Tales, so I asked her if she had ever saw the Veggie Tales cartoons yet...She mentioned how the cartoons had changed so much over the years and that they were not the same as the ones years ago...I had to agree on that and I do recall how much I enjoyed Popeye and Heckle and Jeckle and a bunch of other cartoons when I was a kid...I told her that the Veggie Tales had Christian characters, but now that they were on tv, the network wouldn't let the name of God or Jesus to be actually brought up in the cartoon.
But, I told her that kids who watched the cartoons and liked them would want to have their parents buy the cds and tapes and then they would get to see the real Veggie Tales the way they were originally made. We sat and visited a while longer and when my break time was up, I told her goodbye and I'd see her again soon!
Lo and behold, later on around my last break of the day, after I went through the checkout with my sandwich and apple, who should I spot over by the entrance of the store was my lady friend with a cart full of stuff from Walmart! So, I said hi to her and "whatcha got?" She was so excited. She had bought Veggie Tales tapes and she said they were on sale for 7.50. She said she got them because they were Christian! I just wanted to give her a big hug! As I tell this, I can't even remember this lady's name, but I'll never forget the smile on her face and the pride in her voice when she told me of her "treasures of the day"! The next time I see her, I'm going have her tell me all about her Veggie Tales tapes....and I'm going to be sure and find out her name again! I'm real bad about remembering peoples names, but I rarely forget a face! I could describe this gal as probably over 60...dresses like she's much younger, has rose colored glasses and is just plain cute! This little gal is special, folks, and I'm going to get to know her better and don't be surprised, if I don't have a story to tell of her and I going out on the town one of these days!

Friday, October 13, 2006

Wabbits in danger!

Today was a busy work day and my noon help was about fifteen minutes late and I was starting to worry just a tad! But she made it and when you're busy time flies! Before I knew it, it was time to punch out! The store was having a friday the thirteenth sale and there were several items I wanted to pick up before I went home, so I shopped the store for some sale items...and was it ever busy!! Hy-vee knows how to get people in the door! All you gotta do is put paper towels, toilet tissue, and several other items at a really rediculous price...add icecream at 1.13 a half gallon and its party time at the checkout lanes! I'm sure glad I wasn't a checker today! Those poor checkers were rockin' ! I made pretty good time getting thru the checkout even with it being so busy, and got out of there in time to stop at my favorite thrift store! Oh, by the way, I did get my film developed and most of the pictures were good except there was about four too many of Jose's agave plants!
Now, back to the thrift store... there was only about a half hour left to shop cause they close at 4:30. I didn't find much today, but didn't leave empty handed (no way!) I found two books and a sweater....as I was getting ready to pay for my stuff, one of the ladies that works there asked me where I lived...and when I told her, all of a sudden it dawned on me that she was the lady that came running out of a house down the street about two weeks ago after my darling little Josie had pooped in her yard! I think we both recognized each other at the same time! What do you do in a situation like that? Well, folks, I just said "Oh, I remember you, you're the lady that my dog pooped in your yard!" Nothing backward about me! As I recall the incident: my friend and her daughter and I were walking Josie and Kramer, and who would have thought anyone was on poop-patrol, but this gal was sitting on her couch looking out her window when Josie did her thing. When I saw her jump up from the couch and head for her door, I knew we had been had!
She was very nice about it and brought me something to remove it from the lawn...but I must admit I was embarrassed! I always forget to bring that baggie thing for such incidents and I knew the day was coming when I'd be sorry! And to think that that very lady works at my favorite store..........I should have been mortified! Not me..........we had a nice little discussion and she explained to me that lots of children go by her house and I understood, but she gave me the impression that she didn't particularly care for dogs... so I doubt we will ever be good buddies! I can always reroute my walk and stuff my pockets with those handy-dandy doggie-doo bags, just to be on the safe side!
I do believe that everyone in this house, dogs included, are sleeping! My son washed windows all day today and was windburnt from the sun and the wind, so he retired early and my canine pals wore themselves out early today on a rabbit chase....early this morning when I was getting ready for work, I heard a racket in the back yard. Jose had taken them out and it wasn't even daylight yet, so I couldn't imagine what was going on! Come to find out ,they had actually caught a rabbit and Jose was trying to save the poor thing! And how did he save the rabbit? I'm not real sure, but I know he sure did a lot of hollering..I honestly thought that there was a huge dog loose or maybe even something worse, from the way it sounded! Later on, when he was telling his side of the story he confessed that he threw his coffee at them to save the bunny!
Now, if that was me out there, I'm sorry, but the rabbit would have been history........I would have let nature take it's course! And, I'm certainly not wasting a good cup of coffee! Jose is so kind hearted and can't stand to see anything hurt, so I commend him for that, but he had me worried until I found out what the ruckus was all about!
Tomorrow we are going to have our eyes checked and get new glasses...I always have to have my eyes dilated, so I'm not looking forward to that part, because I have to work afterwards and my eyes will be messed up for quite a while! I'll be glad to get a day off (Sunday) and next weeks schedule is a dandy because I have to work the noon to close shift on both weekend days!
I did manage to get wednesday nite off so I may actually get to go to church that night!
Isn't this weather a hoot! My brother said he wasn't turning his furnace on before he took off for Florida. I'm gonna call him and see if his feet are froze to the floor yet! Have a good weekend and stay warm!

Wednesday, October 11, 2006

Brrrrrrrrrrrrrrrr!

I don't know what's up with blogspot, cause I had to search for my last post on the 10th! I finally found it. Maybe I should take a few days off, could I be posting too much and they can't keep up with me? I don't know how that works! Anyhow, I'm just hanging out at home... it sure got cold today! It was hot in the store though and I kept hearing everyone complaining about how cold it was and I couldn't wait to get out in the fresh air! It was 50 degrees when I went to work at noon and 39 when I left tonite at eight! I hauled in some of the plants this morning before I left and Jose took care of the rest of them when he came home today. I am afraid to go look in the basement! He has an agave plant that is humungus!
Josie hates the cold and I had to personally escort her to the yard tonite...Kramer went out willingly but my little girl went running for her bed when I mentioned going outside to her! She was okay once I got her out there cause Kramer was barking at something, and being the little busybody she is, she had to go investigate and joined in the barkfest..I left them out for about twenty minutes til they got it all out of their systems...they were all perky when they came back in but things are pretty quiet now so I think they retired.....I just checked them out..Josie was sacked out on the couch and Kramer was sleeping in her bed....now, you know, we can't have that, as she would be offended ,so I made Kramer go to his bed and put Josie in hers...so all is well and they are good for all night!
I just remembered, I forgot to take my film to the photo center at the store today! I finished off the last of the film this morning and was going to have it developed today...guess it'll keep til tomorrow! I'm anxious to see the pictures on this film because I've had it so long I forgot what I took pictures of!!! Ever do that? If they all turn out it will be a nice surprise! And most of the time I love surprises!
I love the little saying on my little calendar for tommorrow...............There is a bigger fool than the one who knows it all------it's the person who will argue with him. Ain't that the truth? I hate to admit it, but I've learned that lesson from personal experience! Talk about a losing battle!!
So, that's about all the words of wisdom I have to impart for tonite folks! Welcome to winter and don't be surprised if there's frost on the pumpkins in the mornin!

Tuesday, October 10, 2006

I do believe some of my blogging buddies are in hibernation! I've been sort of out of commission myself due to working the day shift a whole week! However, its back to the old routine starting tomorrow as the boss is back from her vacation today! I started to post something last night but just didn't have it in me to muster up anything worthwhile, so gave it up. Now, I'm not saying today is any better, but I'm at least making an attempt here, so bear with me!
People are saying that we are supposed to get snow by the end of this week! Since the temperature is to drop into the lower 30's by friday... it's entirely possible, but that's really not what we are wanting to hear, am I right? I have my heart set on a nice Indian summer and will not give up on the notion that there's still a chance of some nice warm days in store for us!
I picked a bouquet of roses from the Mother's Day bush...they are absolutely gorgeous and I even took a picture of them...there are still buds that haven't yet bloomed, but I doubt they will make it if we get that friday frost! I guess I could cover them. We are going to have to face the task of bringing in the cacti and Jose's tequila plants (agave) soon. One of the agave plants is huge and he will need help hauling it to the basement...we have quite a few baby agave if anyone would like to have one........free for the asking!
Then we have the issue of falling leaves..........Jose hates leaves and would rake til the snow flew if he had to! Me, on the other hand,

view them as organic mulch that should be left alone to either blow elsewhere or settle in to make for a lush, green carpet of grass in the spring! Now, doesn't that sound like a logical reason to just leave them alone! I just can't seem to convince my dear husband of that!
I goofed and really need to learn how to fix my computer slip-ups, but for right now, I'll just let it go, cause I've tried to fix stuff on here before and lost everything! So, before the morning is totally shot and before I make anymore boo-boos, I will bid all you bloggers farewell til next post...........have a good day and as I glance over at the flippy calendar I catch this little prayer that would apply to just about any of us and certainly to me so I'll share it with you all: Lord, help me not to prejudge other people, even when the bad in them is apparent. Help me to understand that they have needs also. Amen.

Friday, October 06, 2006

A Different Kind of Day

Today was a somewhat strange day for me...When I got to work, everything was as I would expect it to be and things were going along really smooth. Then, not long after I ran a sample stromboli thru the oven to heat it up and put it out for customers to try..a man came to my counter and out of the blue said to me, "We should thank God for this day!" I said,"You're right, we should thank Him for every day!" He spoke briefly and then was on his way. About five minutes later he was back at my counter.......I asked him if he needed anything and he proceeded to tell me that God had spoken a message for him to give me! He also asked if I believed that God speaks to us. He asked me where I went to church and if I knew the Lord and after he shared what God had wanted him to tell me...........he asked if I would have my group (church) pray for his son and his wife........Ruth and Jordan. His wife is diabetic and has had some health concerns and his son had broken his wrist at school a few days ago.. I told him that I would remember them in prayer...Everything he said to me was really encouraging ,......the main thing he told me was not to give him credit for what he said but to give the glory to God, the messenger. I had never spoken to this man before and he did not have any idea that I was even interested in what he had to say, but he had the boldness to share the gospel message with me! When I thanked him, he said "Don't thank me, thank God!" He returned to my counter several times and shared about his wife and son and he came back with some sheets of paper he had copied at the copier at customer service... he handed me one and it read "Be encouraged! Hold fast! Help is on the way--God will save the day! Be obediant." Another thing he told me was that we won't see Jesus in person walking among us, but we will see Him in others.......I saw Jesus today in the face of a total stranger and He spoke to me through that man and I know that God speaks to us in many ways. He also spoke of God's timing and how it is not always in sync with ours. Most of my co-workers would have thought the guy was a kook, but I knew that he knew the Lord and that he was sincere. Unfortunately, encounters such as this one are truly rare.........especially in the workplace! So I felt truly blessed today!
For whatever reason ,God chose today and just at that moment to reveal something to me that I had been longing to hear! I think it was perfectly planned and perfectly timed!
Now, I want to tell you about the rest of my work day... shortly after the encounter with that gentleman, the power went out in the store! I had ran my strombolis and calzones thru the oven and one pizza and some stuffies. They blamed the power outage on a squirrel in a transformer...whatever! anyway , it was off for quite some time and I had to mark down all my coldcase items dractically to move them. Since no-one knew how long the power would be out, it is better to sell at a reduced price than to throw everything away! The power was restored after about two and one half hours....then came the task of replacing everything in the cold case and making a new hot food plate! Needless to say, time flew as I was a busy bee the rest of the afternoon. Everything looked pretty well stocked when I left, but fridays are usually pretty busy, so I would imagine the closer will be kept hopping tonite!
We took our doggies for a walk this evening and of course they loved it and they did enough sniffing to last them a while......there is a cement lion on one of the streets we take them down and Josie usually barks and growls at it, but she didn't tonite, probably because she's used to the thing and it doesn't interest her anymore. I made it a point to avoid that one bush that they are both endeared to...everything is all quiet in the house. My guess is that they are snoozing on the couch!
Well, folks, so much for a day in the live of...........it was a different sort of day. I'll chock it up as a good day.....Life is good and God is good! Have a great weekend, sounds like it's going to be an Indian Summer one, perfect for the Knox County Scenic Drive! Enjoy!

Wednesday, October 04, 2006

I'm back!

It's been a few days since I made an entry here...working the day shift all week has totally thrown me off course! I'm tired after work and it's too early to do anything in the morning except get ready for work...but tonight I'll try and muster up enough energy to say a little somethin'! That coldfront that moved in this afternoon sure cooled things off...yesterday it was like 93! I didn't much care for that. I did some much needed cleaning in the house yesterday and had to turn the air on or suffocate!
I haven't entirely abandoned the computer tho, and I've been checking out everyone elses entries and I've noticed that I'm not the only one who hasn't been posting in the last week.
I know that many are too busy and have lots of other things to do and I get busy with all the things that come flying at me sometimes, seems like there's always something going on! I think we can all stand a break from the everyday hum-drum and routine stuff and just chill for a while!
Television really bugs me a lot anymore... I hate it when the stupid thing is blasting all the time and nobody is even paying attention to what's on. I bet I'll turn it off countless times during the day only to have it back on the next time I enter the room...and guess what..there's usually no-one in the room...do you reckon the stupid thing is turning itself on?! I must be sending out some mean subliminal signals, because all of a sudden it got awful quiet in the next room! I think he just shut the tv off! Just joking! Actually the poor guy is tired and has been reading and studying alot and is trying to catch a power nap!
My dogs are hunters! When I came home from work today I saw Kramer throwing a small animal up in the air, so I thought I had better check it out... it was a mole. I don't know which one was guilty of the incident.. I would imagine it was Josie because she is much more aggresive than her pal Kramer. When I went to take it away she nailed it and I thought I was going to have a fight on my hands, but she gave it up and we disposed of the varmit. I knew they had been after something in the backyard for quite some time and since moles are good for nothing except rooting up the yard, I guess you could say they did us a favor! And I'm sure they were proud of themselves, since they haven't had any luck catching a squirrel!
I'm going to go to church tonite and I sure hope I don't doze off.......I'd have some caffiene but don't think that would be a good idea this late..once I get outside and that cool air hits me , maybe I'll perk up some... well, lets hope so......In the meantime, that's about all I have to relay tonight. I'll leave you all, with this thought from my flippy calendar: There are bigger things than money--bills, for instance...........ain't that the truth!